Wray Carvelas

Group Chief Executive Officer


Wray Carvelas is the DRA Group CEO, based in Toronto. Wray has over 25 years’ experience in gold, copper, diamonds, iron ore, nickel and platinum. Before moving to North America, Wray was DRA’s Director of Projects for Africa, managing a project portfolio of five billion dollars. Wray has significant experience in operations management and project delivery and is particularly skilled in fast-tracking large scale projects. From 2011 until his appointment as group CEO in 2016, Wray focused on growing DRA’s business in the Americas, both organically as well as through acquisition. Wray is a metallurgist and has an MBA degree, adding formal management training to his significant practical leadership experience.

dra board of directors

Andrew Naude

Chief Finance & Strategic Officer


Andrew Naude is CFO and Strategy Director of the DRA Group. Andrew worked in the financial services industry for just short of 20 years with a decade of his experience earned at executive level. Andrew joined DRA in 2013 and is responsible for development and oversight of DRA’s financial and commercial activities, including mergers and acquisitions and strategic investments, as well as leading the group corporate services functions. Andrew has been extensively involved in strategic growth initiatives within the international business, and also served as interim CEO during 2016. Andrew is a Chartered Accountant and a member of the Institute of Directors in South Africa and Australia.

Neale Goddard

Executive Vice President


Neale Goddard is Group Executive for Project Delivery and is responsible for the DRA Projects business globally. Neale has 20 year’s industry experience. He has worked on large-scale engineering projects in various locations around the world. Currently, Neale leads growth and market penetration strategies for the group’s projects division. Neale holds a B.Sc. Eng (Mechanical) from University of the Witwatersrand and is registered professional engineer.

dra board of directors
James Smith - Executive Vice President and Managing Director for DRA Minopex

James Smith

Executive Vice President and Managing Director for Minopex


James Smith is the Group Executive for Operations and is responsible for DRA’s Minopex business unit. James has over 20 years’ experience in the mining, industrial and financial sectors where he has held various consulting, investment advisory and operational leadership positions. In his current role, James drives the growth and development of DRA’s contract operations and maintenance business. He holds a BSc. Eng. (Chemical Engineering) from the University of Witwatersrand.


Pierre Julien

Executive Vice President


Pierre Julien is Group Executive for Origination and is responsible for DRA’s global business development. Pierre has over 30 years’ global mining industry experience where has held a number of technical and executive roles. In his current role, Pierre identifies and accesses new business channels, seeking opportunities for growth into adjacent sectors and developing innovative ways to enhance DRA’s service offering to clients. Pierre is a graduate of Haileybury School of Mines and has an MBA from Queen’s University. He holds executive and board level roles with the Canadian Mineral Processors Society and the Canadian Institute of Mines, Metallurgy & Petroleum (CIMM).


Rick W. Thomas

Executive Vice President


Rick W. Thomas is the Executive Vice President of Energy Operations. Rick has over 36 years of experience in engineering, operations management and business development. He has worked extensively throughout the United States, managing underground and surface coal mining operations, coal sales and acquisition of industrial minerals and coal mining companies. In his current role Rick oversees DRA’s Energy Operations division, which specializes in the operation and maintenance of refined coal facilities installed at energy producing utilities.

Rick holds an MBA from Duke University and an M.Sc. (Mining Engineering) from the University of Kentucky, and is a member of the National Society of Professional Engineers.